Wappinger Town Hall Open By Appointment Only - Click for Details
COVID-19 Vaccine Updates - Click for Details
IMPORTANT UPDATES - General COVID-19 Info | Cancellations/Postponements | Business Updates | Town Hall Entrance COVID Questionnaire

About Wappinger

Wappinger, is a town located within New York’s Hudson River Valley National Heritage Area, just 70 miles (110 km) north of New York City, along the eastern banks of the majestic Hudson River. The Town’s population is made up of almost 28,000 residents of all creeds, cultures, and nationalities. The name, Wappinger, is derived from the Wappani Native Americans who inhabited our area. Wappinger comprises 3/4 of the incorporated Village of Wappingers Falls, the unincorporated hamlets of Chelsea, Diddell, FowlerHouse, Hughsonville, Middlebush, Myers Corners, New Hackensack, and Swartwoutville, and a number of residential neighborhoods.

Wappinger is one of the largest populated towns in Dutchess County covers a total of 28.5 square miles and is governed by a five-member Town Board. The 29th Town Supervisor, Richard L. Thurston, was elected to the office in November 2017. The Town Supervisor is the presiding officer over Town Board meetings and is the chief financial and operating officer of the Town. The town is structured as a ward system with Town Council-members representing different areas within Wappinger. Councilman William H. Beale represents Ward 1, which includes the Village of Wappingers Falls, northern US Route 9 corridor, Hughsonville hamlet, and Middlebush hamlet. Ward 2 Councilwoman Angela Bettina represents the southern areas of Wappinger which consists of Chelsea hamlet, Swartwoutville hamlet, and the southern part of the US Route 9 corridor. Representing Ward 3 is Councilman Christopher Phillips which includes the middle of the town including part of Myers Corners hamlet, Rockingham Farms, Quiet Acres, Wildwood, and Shamrock Hills subdivisions. Councilman Michael Kuzmicz oversees the northern part of Wappinger in Ward 4, which consists of New Hackensack hamlet, Myers Corners hamlet, Hudson Valley Regional Airport, and Edgehill Manor subdivision. The Town of Wappinger has an elected Town Clerk, held by Joseph P. Paoloni, who is tasked with maintaining town records and taking minutes of Town Board meetings. The Highway Department is overseen by the elected Superintendent of Highways Vincent F. Bettina. The town has two Town Justices, Carl Wolfson, and Heather Kitchen.

Office of Wappinger Town Supervisor
Richard L. Thurston

Contact Us

Richard L. Thurston
Wappinger Town Supervisor

Secretary to the Supervisor: Sandra Vacchio

Wappinger Town Hall
20 Middlebush Road
Wappingers Falls, NY 12590

Fax: 845-297-4558